You can run but you can’t hide

Over the weekend I tried to escape shipwrecks and dissertation research and writing by enjoying some good ‘ol American culture: watching TV and going to the movies. I tried… but failed.

On the TV front I finally watched Downton Abbey, the PBS series everyone has been raving about. Not two minutes into the first episode the Titanic appears. Yes, it’s a brilliant entry point for a series about the cataclysmic cultural changes wrought by modernity. Yes, the series is brilliant. But seriously, I can’t get away from April 15, 1912. (note: second season is off to a great start.)

Did a little digging and found out that Downton Abbey‘s creator, Julian Fellowes, has made an “epic” mini-series about the Titanic aptly titled Titanic. According to one report:

ITV’s Titanic will apparently weave action, mystery and romance narratives, featuring a slew of fictional and historical characters, which will tie together in the series finale.

It will differ from James Cameron’s hit 1997 film about the disaster by shifting the focus away from two central characters to explore the untold stories of the hundreds of other people on board the ship.

Pretty sweet — I hope I can watch it here in the states!

But I digress. Date night was a trip to the theatre to see Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy. Great fun–I’m a fan of long, convoluted mysteries (and British actors apparently). But before it even started, I learned James Cameron is rereleasing Titanic in time for the 100-year anniversary… in 3D. Don’t believe me? Watch the trailer:

Wow–I could only shake my head. What next, the image of the sinking Titanic on the next quarter?

4 Comments

Filed under Dissertation Digest, Notes from the Field, Shipwreck culture, Shipwreck Kitsch

4 responses to “You can run but you can’t hide

  1. It was a good movie. I’d see it again in the theater, but I don’t care if it is in 3D.

  2. 🙂 Maybe cardbord (I initially wrote cardboat..) Titanics popping up everywhere promoting the movie?
    Anyway, ship on big screen. Ship wrecking on big screen. I’ll be there.

Leave a Reply

