Why we love a good shipwreck

Recently, Tom Dresser–good friend of Ships on the Shore–sent me (via snail mail no less!) a fantastic op-ed that appeared in the Boston Sunday Globe titled: “Why we love a good shipwreck.” The short answer: “a shipwreck isn’t just an event–it’s also a drama.” I couldn’t agree more. I love a good shipwreck because of the fascinating stories they tell us about who we are and how we got here. On that note, look out for Dresser’s newest book: Disaster Off Martha’s Vineyard: The Sinking of the City of Columbus. It’s being published by The History Press in the months to come and judging from my conversations with the author, it will be a fantastic account of one of the nineteenth-century’s most famous shipwrecks. I’m looking forward to reading it!

7 Comments

Filed under Notes from the Field, Shipwreck culture

7 responses to “Why we love a good shipwreck

  1. I’ll have to get a copy when its released. Thanks for the heads up!

  2. Paul Parker

    “…..the fascinating stories they tell us about who we are and how we got here. ”
    I love that line. It explains my own fascination with shipwrecks!
    Now if I can figure out why I love the water and the sea, but I’m deathly afraid of diving near sunken boats, even ones put there on purpose…

    • Jamin Wells

      There is definitely something unsettling about diving on wrecks–no matter if they’re intentional or not, old or new. Thanks for commenting!

  3. My lovely library did me a favor and purchased this book. I’ll be digging into it shortly.

  4. Finally finished the book. A very informative read, I’ll give it a 5 star rating on Goodreads.

    Must’ve been terribly disappointing for the survivors up in the rigging when the Glaucus passed them by. And how sad that so many died. If Harding had survived I wonder what he could’ve offered us in the way of the events. I guess inthe end he would’ve been inthe same boat as his captain. Imagine the sea being your life and have your license as captain and pilot revoked. Been somethign like living in the shoes of Cpt. Stanley Lord. It was also neat how the Indians pitched in on the rescue efforts.

Leave a Reply

