The Party’s Over (for now)

I started this blog in the summer of 2011 to share my dissertation research and aggregate contemporary shipwreck news. It has been a fantastic experience–we were “freshly pressed” and nominated for the Liebster Award twice (thank you again J.D. and Patrick!). More important, I met a whole bunch of folks interested in shipwrecks, salvage and history. Many gave me a vital scrap of evidence or helped me see things in a new perspective. Thank you for taking the time to send me an email or post a comment–you made my dissertation better. 

But, as the estimable Willie Nelson once put it: “Turn out the lights, the party’s over. They say that all good things must end.” I’m happy to report that I successfully defended my dissertation, “The Shipwreck Shore: Marine Disasters and the Creation of the American Littoral,” last week. It’s been quite a process. I have a veritable boatload of suggestions and comments from my committee concerning how to turn my relatively concise dissertation into a proper book. But first I need some down time–let things percolate a bit–before embarking on the dissertation-to-book project. (I’m also on the job hunt–anyone out there need a hard-working historian?) Until then, Ships on the Shore will be on hiatus. Thanks for tuning in and keep an eye to windward for our return…

8 Comments

Filed under Dissertation Digest, Notes from the Field

8 responses to “The Party’s Over (for now)

  1. Congratulations! I’ll miss the posts, but I’m sure you’ll enjoy the R&R. Good luck with the book and the job hunt.

  2. Buck

    Congratulations! I’m subscribed via RSS, so if you get the urge to tickle the keyboard, I’ll see it… looking forward to it!

  3. Congrats on getting your dissertation completed. A book is a natural leap, but you do need some time to catch your breath, and let the ideas percolate.
    Good luck, and do keep us ‘posted!’

  4. Dana

    I love you Jamin your blog was an inspiration and kept ME chugging along as I navigated a masters thesis. Best of luck! I cannot wait to read your book!

  5. Good luck! Enjoyed the blog very much!

  6. Dad

    as a person who loves history very much I am in awe of your talent in bringing the historical events again to live. As your dad,I am again amazed at all that you have achieved. You fill me with pride.

  7. Congrats, Dr.! Enjoy the long deserved break!

  8. Many, many thanks everyone.

Leave a Reply

